Progress on the red-maple limb table

Between summer chores and students, I’m making steady headway on the red maple table.

Going for a snug fit on the first tree-limb table support.Image

Now I’m ready to figure out the angle for the next section

Image

and cut the compound angles for the extension arm.

Image

Then the glue-up. Thank goodness electrical tape is stretchy and tough.

Image

The first tree trunk and branch are roughed out, and I’m ready to move on to the second.

Image

My work was delayed as I searched for a better vise for carving, then I found this gem: the Eli Ball Vise.

Image

For my $190 investment, I hit pay dirt. The Eli vise takes a pounding.

Image

I did a quick check to see how the red-maple table top had settled in after surfacing, only to find it had bowed over an inch. No room there for jointing and planing again, so I had to reach deep into my bag of woodworking tricks.

This is the top before:

Image

And after:

Image

I’ll be keeping an eye on it to see how it fares.

Thanks for joining me again, and I look forward to your comments.

Autumn

This entry was posted in Gallery. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Progress on the red-maple limb table

  1. That’s lookin’ Good, and you didn’t have to saw and re-cut the original branch? I like the new stump carving. It looks very real.

  2. Nancy Eli says:

    Autumn, Now I understand how you planned to use the Eli Carving vise. I am so glad it is working well for you.. It does take a pretty good beating, doesn’t it? Thank you for the link to my website. i love your work. Nancy Eli

    • Thanks, Nancy. It’s nice to have a “made in the USA” product in my shop that was built to last. Since the tree trunks are made of walnut, they are heavy, and the carving required isn’t a delicate affair. I’m using a cheater bar for tightening (a piece of 2′ pipe), and it gives me an extra few hundred pounds of torque with a flick of the wrist.

  3. Donna Menke says:

    Boy-o-boy, Autumn, you don’t go for the easy ones do you. This (and the book holder) make my harp making look like high school work. I like a challenge too, but you take woodworking projects to a whole ‘nother level. Congratulations- it looks great. You should tell us how you straightened the board though. It does not look thinner. . . fess up to the magic tricks.

    • We each have our talents, Donna — your delicately carved birds are a wonder to behold. Seems like we both enjoy a good challenge. Thanks for the kudos. I’m thinking about how to easily explain the board flattening process, so I’ll probably post that next.

  4. msjackiebee says:

    As always, WOW! The flow and proportions of the piece couldn’t be better. I’m with Donna–what did you do? I know Tinkerbell doesn’t live in your shop. I’ve been there. The beautiful stuff that comes out of your shop are from your brain and brawn.

  5. KRS says:

    Autumn: Your work is amazing. I love watching the growth of this piece. KRS

  6. Holy Cow, Autumn!! You do not cease to amaze me!! Your patience and deliberate perseverance is staggering, seriously. It is cool to see that your ‘take the bow out of this board project’ worked!! That would be a good article for Fine Woodworking!! You are an artist.

  7. Alex says:

    Wow, awesome to watch this in-progress. Looking forward to future posts!

  8. britboxmaker says:

    Some beautiful work, Autumn.
    The vice looks like a serious piece of kit, good investment.
    Your skill is in great evidence.

Leave a Reply

